Love your enemies


Let’s face it. There are people that just really tick you off, piss you off, get under your nerve, disappoint you, mistreat you, betray you, take you for granted, insult you, step over the line, and irritate you to the bone, step on your beliefs, hurt you, and all those negative things – all those things you don’t like and just cannot stand. Let’s admit it. They exist. For what ever hurt they did to you in the past, or for how they continually hurt or irritate and annoy you … ‘hate’ is such a strong word, but there are people that you might have so much anger for that you sometimes hate them with a passion.

You cringe at the sound of their names when you hear it being called, and get tired when you are reminded of what they did to make your life more difficult. … But then, I remembered my 16-year-old brother. I once asked him what he does when other people get on his nerves, and what he told me was amazing. He said, “I pray for them, because … when I do that, I am no longer coming from a place of hatred and anger, I am coming from a place of love, acceptance, and forgiveness.”

Jesus says, ‘Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.’ Matthew 5:44

… I am achieving this with great difficulty, and the first and hardest step is looking passed their faults, and all the trouble or hurt or discomfort you are put through … You must will it. Then do it.

So last night, I did. I prayed for those that have been giving me a hard time … even if it doesn’t matter to them, I prayed for their happiness, I prayed for their well being, for good health, for their loved ones, for their jobs, and for the things that are important to them. … It is truly better to love than to hate. … And throughout my prayers, my heart felt lighter. I even found healing.

‘… you are the children of your Father in heaven. If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that?’ Matthew 5:45-47

It is always easier to stay angry, or stay enemies. … But what reward is there in doing things that are easy?

Set yourself apart, because you are children of God.

Comments
One Response to “Love your enemies”
  1. ben says:

    Hi there. It’s really hard to love your enemies but when you’re there, when you’ve been called out by God. It’s all natural.

Leave a Reply

