Sink To Swim


This short film has always moved me. It is Julie Gautier’s artistic piece of the world champion freediver Guillaume Nery base jumping underwater into Dean’s Blue Hole — the world’s largest underwater sinkhole. It has captivated me especially because I can very much relate it to emotions I associate with my faith and submitting myself to the Lord.

Have you ever tried walking underwater? Not in a pool, but at a beach or something? No? Hmmmm… Well… Okaaay. When you are walking underwater and you open your eyes, you only see a few meters in front of you. Like Guillaume walking slowly underwater, you see nothing else but the first few steps before you. Everything else is murky; dark and unclear. It’s quite scary. You’ll also find that it is difficult to move underwater, as you feel like forces are moving against you and not with you, but you still push forward, unknowingly.

Isn’t this how we find our position in life sometimes as well? I’ve felt this many times and I know it all too well. It’s when we are tried and tested in life and all forces are working against us. It’s when we complain the most. When we allow our problems to slow us down and blur our vision. Direction? None really. We are only able to see the first few steps to move forward. And is ‘forward’ really the direction we are moving? Who knows? Everything is so confusing, difficult and unclear. The end result: unknown. Then, at some point, we find ourselves unable to move forward anymore. We find ourselves incapable. We feel like we’ve reached the end. … or in this case, in our case, for us who believe that Jesus Christ is our Saviour and Lord, we reach an edge. On this edge we are faced with a decision which requires a tremendous amount of courage — a giant leap of faith into the unknown. We are asked to surrender.

2 Corinthians 12:9 NIV says: “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

I can recall one vivid memory when I fully surrendered myself and all my problems to the Lord. It was on the evening of September 11, 2010 to be exact, during Single’s Encounter Weekend. The feeling was exhilarating. I believe everyone during that weekend felt the same.

After I surrendered, I sank. Everything that I knew of — my human understanding of my situation, difficulties, and plans — I let go of. I submitted to the Lord, all my worries, doubts, and fears, and they all sank until there was nothing left but the Lord. I was… During that weekend, we were all, then, renewed by the Holy Spirit and we felt His divine presence working actively in our lives. We became stronger by God’s grace. Our worries were replaced with reassurance, our doubts, trust, and our fears were replaced with a stronger faith in the Lord.

Refreshed.

6 thoughts on “Sink To Swim

  1. Helen, I love this post. Thanks for writing about surrender. And for us who served during your SE, it is affirming to know how the weekend affected you. I feel strengthened by your testimony. Keep up the great work! God bless!

  2. Helen, you write beautifully, able to convey in words the depth of yout thoughts and emotions. That is grace indeed, your very name! May you always find God’s hand leading you, deeper, deeper into His very heart….!

    Praying for you!

  3. Dear Helen:

    What matters most to God is our desire to do His Will. From this desire springs up many other possibilities. You will be overwhelmed when He answers: when it rains, it pours! Continue to journey inside you and bring them as a fragrant offering to the God who has called you for His purpose and to fulfill His Will in your life. You will never find yourself alone. With God, there is us too. We will support you. BLD is behind you. You are always in my prayers.

  4. Thank you ate Yeng, tita Cielo, and Sister E for the support, words of comfort, and prayers. They are deeply appreciated. Much love & God bless! : )

  5. It amazes me that someone so young can have such deep insights 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It’s so true that when one surrenders, let go and let God, one doesn’t have to walk against the current… the current will bring us to where we should be, to where we belong.
    2 Corinthians 12:9 is also one of my favorites…

  6. I wish there was a “like” button so I could like a comment, too. Hehe. Thank you tita Susan! I hope that we all would always be moving along with the current. God bless! : )

Leave a Reply

