Closer


1I am leading you along the high road, but there are descents as well as ascents. In the distance you see snow-covered peaks glistening in brilliant sunlight. Your longing to reach those peaks is good, but you must not take shortcuts. Your assignment is to follow Me, allowing Me to direct your path. Let the heights beckon you onward, but stay close to Me. …

Openness to love, trouble with faith, challenged to position, challenged to creativity, healing of elder in the family, sacrificing time that was never meant to be sacrificed, death in the community, death in the family … sums up my week that isn’t even finished yet. This poster illustrates what I feel in a nutshell, but not quite exactly.

http://www.musicphilosophy.co.uk/

Today especially, has become so surreal, and distracting myself with funny office challenges is only a quick fix that isn’t really a fix. It’s like putting a bandaid on a deep wound. But I don’t think its even that dramatic, not yet at least. Everything is just still so surreal. Death is so surreal, especially in such close proximity. I was warned yesterday, but I didn’t know these would be the obstacles. I am not at all in my comfort zone. All of it happening in the absence of my closest friends. God is calling.

1Learn to trust Me when things go “wrong.” Disruptions to your routine highlight your dependence on Me. Trusting acceptance of trials brings blessings that far outweigh them all. Walk hand in hand with Me through this day. I have lovingly planned every inch of the way. Trust does not falter when the path becomes rocky and steep. Breathe deep droughts of My Presence, and hold tightly to My hand. Together we can make it!

Be still, and know that I am God. – Psalm 46:10

1 Jesus Calling by Sarah Young (January 18th Devotion)

Leave a Reply

