Recalling Jesus Calling


jesus callingJesus Calling by Sarah Young has been one of my daily guides for the past 2 months. Along side with the Gospel and daily readings, dad’s emails, and those other devotionals or reflections that are being passed on, Jesus Calling is another companion in my faith and spiritual growth. Allow me to just recall Him Calling during my trip to Manila and back. I think it’s important to always reflect on these things, usually He is trying to say something to you. Maybe reading through His messages during these days, you may find Him speaking to you too.

Friday, January 20th
After finding out about my tito Jun’s death, … I am anxious to go back to Manila. My flight is at night and I arrive late enough to delay going to the funeral home.

… As you make plans for this day, remember that it is I who orchestrate the events of your life. … On days when your plans are thwarted, be on the lookout for Me! I may be doing something important in your life, something quite different from what you expected. It is essential at such times to stay in communication with Me, accepting My way as better than yours. Don’t try to figure out what is happening. Simply trust Me and thank Me in advance for the good that will come out of it all. I know the plans I have for you, and they are good.

Saturday, January 21st
The first time I enter the funeral home and see the casket.

I want you to be all Mine. I am weaning you from other dependencies. Your security rests in Me alone — not in other people, not in circumstances. Depending only on Me may feel like walking on a tightrope, but there is a safety net underneath: the everlasting arms. So don’t be afraid of falling. Instead look ahead to Me. I am always before you, beckoning you on — one step at a time. …

Sunday, January 22nd
The burial.

Strive to trust Me in more and more areas of your life. Anything that tends to make you anxious is a growth opportunity. Instead of running away from these challenges, embrace them, eager to gain all the blessings I have hidden in the difficulties. If you believe that I am sovereign over every aspect of your life, it is possible to trust Me in all situations. Don’t waste energy regretting the way things are or thinking about what might have been. Start at the present moment — accepting things exactly as they are — and search for My way in the midst of those circumstances. 

Trust is like a staff you can lean on, as you journey uphill with Me. If you are trusting in Me consistently, the staff will bear as much of your weight as needed. Lean on, trust, and be confident in Me with all your heart and mind. 

Monday, January 23rd
Running off to La Union before dawn … A try to get away from it all.

It’s all right to be human. … Share a secret smile with Me, knowing that I understand. Rejoice in My Love for you, which has no limits or conditions. Whisper My Name in loving contentment, assured that I will never leave you or forsake you. … Your weakness and woundedness are the openings through which the Light of the knowledge of My Glory shines forth. My strength and power show themselves most effective in your weakness. 

Tuesday, January 24th
Early morning surf and back to Manila in the evening.

My Peace is the treasure of treasures: the pearl of great price. … I purchased this Peace for you with My blood. You receive this gift by trusting Me in the midst of life’s storms. … Thank Me when things do not go your way, because spiritual blessings come wrapped in trials. Adverse circumstances are normal in a fallen world. Expect them each day. Rejoice in the face of hardship, for I have overcome the world. 

Wednesday, January 25th
Packing. Delayed flight. Back to Hong Kong in the evening.

Sit still in the Light of My Presence, and receive My Peace. These quiet moments with Me transcend time, accomplishing far more than you can imagine. Bring Me the sacrifice of your time, and watch to see how abundantly I bless you and your loved ones. 

Through the intimacy of our relationship, you are being transformed from the inside out. As you keep your focus on Me, I form you into the one I desire you to be. Your part is to yield to My creative work in you, neither resisting it nor trying to speed it up. Enjoy the tempo of a God-breathed life by letting Me set the pace. Hold My hand in childlike trust, and the way before you will open up step by step. 

Leave a Reply

