Before I say ‘good night’ to the world…


I have a flight on Saturday, my bags are unpacked, no place to stay for 2 days, travel arrangements all in disarray, work all crazy busy in millions of ways that I can’t even begin to understand or explain, delegations, managing staff, managing clients, managing bosses, and I’m left with one Friday to figure all this out. But … I am at peace. I am thankful … and I realized this morning, that I really am surrounded by Love. I can see it, I can feel it, I can sense it, I can smell it … I am surrounded by it. … and this truth, I lived throughout the day until now, and I will continue to live, all the days of my life.

“Surely Your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever” Psalm 23:6

In the taxi on my way to work this morning, if only by God’s grace, I realized this. A regular morning, reading the first reading, while I was looking out of the window and over to the horizon… I  saw a tree. It was just a regular looking tree, same colour as any other, nothing that would physically distinguish it from all the other trees I’ve ever seen before… It was just there, a tree… Standing tall, in the midst of all its other tree-relatives… So alike in appearance to every other, and yet it was only with that one tree that I realized God’s truth. God created that tree with love! It is a product of God’s everlasting love. We – all of us – are a product of God’s everlasting love. The entire earth, the universe, is a product of God’s everlasting love. We were made out of perfect love. … Because our Creator, our Father, is God who is Perfect Love.

“So God created mankind in His own image, in the image of God, He created them; male and female He created them.” Genesis 1:27

Everyday, we are not faced with challenges… We are faced with opportunities – opportunities to love. We are a product of love, therefore we are capable of that same love. But what is this love?

“Love is patient, love is kind…

I was given the opportunity to be patient with my colleagues today, in numerous occasions. I was given the opportunity to be kind to those who were even unkind or rude to me… On the train, in the cue, even some clients… With friends, with family, with enemies…

“It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud…

I was humbled by the circumstances, and I was given the opportunity to appreciate people rather than be envious of them for having what I lack, for getting the opportunities which I had wanted but not been given…

“It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, …

I was given the opportunity to keep silent, in the Presence of God when I was being praised… and give God, our Father, all the glory, rather than being proud… Because I am constantly reminded, if only by God’s amazing grace, that my gifts are not for myself but for the benefit of others.

“It is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.

Blame is a waste of time, and it is a waste of energy. I was given the opportunity to overlook the shortcomings of others, and look into their intentions and effort. Look into their hearts…

“It does not delight in evil but rejoices in the truth…

There is no gain in seeing another person suffer, but if the pain is caused by a truth, that pain is vital for growth… with experience as the best teacher. Tough love, so to speak.

“It always protects …

Look out for other people’s good and benefit… Safety and care.

“… always trusts …

Yes, my Lord Jesus, I will always trust in You.

“… always hopes, always perseveres…” – 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Love keeps you going. God keeps you going.

For now, this is the time I can say my good nights. Continue on for the rest of 1 Corinthians 13 another time. But I cannot thank the Lord enough to opening my eyes to see all the opportunities to love. I am surrounded by it.

“Surely Your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever” Psalm 23:6

Good night… to those who will sleep now… I end greeting with love. And a new morning awaits as I claim that it will also start with love. : )
Leave a Reply

